Sharks' OT goal counts, despite illegal hand pass: 'I'm sure they'll lose some sleep'

CLOSE

SportsPulse: USA TODAY Sports’ Kevin Allen breaks down both sides of the Western Conference Finals and gives a prediction on whether the Sharks or Blues will advance.
USA TODAY

The San Jose Sharks scored an overtime goal Wednesday night to take a 2-1 series lead against the St. Louis Blues in the Western Conference final.

But there was a problem with the goal, which was scored after an illegal hand pass. And the NHL was unable to step in and do anything about it.

Sharks defenseman Erik Karlsson scored the overtime goal, his second of the game, at 5:23 after taking a pass from Gustav Nyquist for a 5-4 victory.

The problem was right before that.

San Jose’s Timo Meier, while on his knees, had batted the puck out of the air to the ice. And no Blues players touched the puck before it went to Nyquist.

Since a Sharks player was the next to touch it, under NHL rules, the play should have been blown dead.

DISPUTES: The most controversial calls throughout NHL playoff history

ROD THE BOD: Hurricanes coach, 48, can probably ‘outlift everyone’ in NHL

Read Story